Hit and run laws vary from state to state. Many states consider it a federal crime if the accident results in a death, personal injury or damages to property of either party.
In Kentucky, the laws specifically imply that there is a duty and obligation of the driver in case of an accident. If the accident results in injury or death of any person, or damages to another vehicle or property, the driver must immediately stop and provide reasonable assistance. However, if one of the drivers leaves the scene, it can be difficult to establish who is at fault.
Until recently, Kentucky was one of three states where it was not considered a felony for a driver to flee the scene after a hit and run accident.
Due to several cases that captured the attention of citizens across the nation, including the death of a 14 year-old boy and a University of Kentucky freshman, the bill finally passed in 2008.
In Kentucky, anyone leaving the scene of a hit and run accident can be charged with a Class D felony, which carries possible fines of up to $10,000 and 1 to 5 years in prison.
These types of cases are taken very seriously in Kentucky courts, as they require substantial evidence and a solid establishment of who is at fault. In cases of a hit and run accident, a personal injury lawyer is your most vital tool to seeking compensation and retribution. If you or someone you know is the victim of a hit and run accident, contact your Kentucky personal injury attorney as soon as possible.