Your first drunk driving conviction may have felt like more inconvenience than punishment. While it was frustrating to deal with, the consequences may not have been so severe that it made you worry about what would happen if there was a second time.
Law enforcement, judges and prosecutors take a second DUI very seriously. If you face another DUI charge within 10 years of the first one, you could face severe consequences that could impact your career and life.
Here’s what you should know about a second DUI offense in Kentucky:
The penalties start here
Depending on the circumstances of your second DUI, the consequences can go from bad to worse. Without aggravating factors, a second DUI can include penalties such as:
- One year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment
- Fines up to $500
- Jail for up to six months
A second DUI conviction will also result in the suspension of your driver’s license for up to 18 months. However, you may be eligible for a reduction on your suspension if you successfully complete 120 days of the Kentucky Ignition Interlock Program (KIIP).
Penalties for a second DUI are even more severe if you have any of the following aggravating factors:
- Going 30mph or more over the posted speed limit
- Driving in the wrong direction
- Causing an accident with a serious injury or death
- Measuring over 0.15 percent blood alcohol content (BAC)
- Driving with a passenger under 12 years old
When you have any of these aggravating factors, you could face at least 14 days in jail in addition to the other penalties that come with a DUI conviction.
Drunk driving can have devastating and expensive consequences. If you are not sure if you have had too much to drink, you should get a sober ride home. Every day, people make the mistake of getting behind the wheel when they are no longer fit to drive, and the consequences can follow them for years afterward.